Monday, 8 February 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tape 45: The Music of 1961

Over the past few weeks some of the channels that specialise in “classic” music have been gracing us with songs that celebrate landmark anniversaries this year. For instance, Now 70’s have been championing songs from 1971, while their counterparts on the Now 80’s and 90’s channels have been doing likewise with 1981 and 1991.

So seeing as how there isn’t a Now 60’s channel, yours truly is showing inspiration once again with a Mix Tape celebrating the songs that celebrate their 60th anniversary this year. Yep, it really was sixty years ago that the songs on this Mix Tape hit the UK charts, and as you’ll see from the track listing below it really is a who’s who of pop greats.

1) Let’s Twist Again - Chubby Checker
2) Runaway - Del Shannon
3) Calendar Girl - Neil Sedaka
4) Walk Right Back - The Everly Brothers
5) Runaround Sue
6) Rubber Ball - Bobby Vee
7) Hello Mary Lou (Goodbye Heart) - Ricky Nelson
8) What’d I Say - Jerry Lee Lewis
9) Baby I Don’t Care - Buddy Holly
10) Walkin’ Back to Happiness - Helen Shapiro
11) Johnny Remember Me - John Leyton
12) Halfway to Paradise - Billy Fury
13) When the Girl in Your Arms is the Girl in Your Heart - Cliff Richard
14) Stand By Me - Ben E. King
15) Cupid - Sam Cooke
16) Cryin’ - Roy Orbison
17) Are You Lonesome Tonight - Elvis Presley with the Jordanaires
18) Take Five - Dave Brubeck Quartet
19) Stranger on the Shore - Mr. Acker Bilk with the Leon Young String Chorale
20) Moon River - Henry Mancini
21) Let There Be Drums - Sandy Nelson
22) Ambush - The Outlaws
23) F.B.I. - The Shadows
24) Ring of Fire - Duane Eddy
25) There’s a Hole in My Bucket - Harry Belafonte & Odetta
26) Hit the Road Jack - Ray Charles Orchestra

You can listen to this Mix Tape by visiting

You can also listen to the entire Two Sheds Mix Tape collection at


No comments:

Post a comment