Friday, 16 July 2021

What Were You Doing When You Were 19?

Can I ask you, what were you were doing when you were 19 years old?

Me? I was washing dishes in a local hotel, enjoying free beer in the hotel bar while getting occasionally drunk, and spending a great deal of my wages on tapes and compact discs in my local branch of Woolworths.

I wasn’t standing in the middle of 60,000 people in a stadium or a television audience of 31 million, about to take a penalty that could send the nation into a rapturous celebration or a deep depression.

Tuesday, 6 July 2021

They'll Still Watch EastEnders

One of the things that covid anti-vaxxers seem to go on about a great deal is their distrust for mainstream media. Since the pandemic began they’ve constantly told us that companies such as the BBC, ITV and Sky have been lying to use about everything, and that their news and current affairs programmes are all a part of some big worldwide conspiracy to control us.

They tell us that we should boycott them, that we shouldn’t watch their news output, but when they tell us this they seem to forget something.

Monday, 5 July 2021

The Cricket Was Great, But There Was Something Missing

I was watching the World Test Championship final between New Zealand and India a couple of weeks ago (congratulations to New Zealand on their big win by the way). The standard of cricket on display was very high, as was expected from the best two teams in the world, but despite all of this there was something gnawing away at the back of my mind. There was something that didn’t seem right with the game, and I’m not talking about the days that were lost to the glorious British summer weather.

Friday, 2 July 2021

Should've Gone To Iceland

I was in a local supermarket today (not the one I work in) when I overheard a member of staff telling a customer how they were always "short staffed" and how they desperately needed new people.
 
I felt like asking her "if that's the case then why does your head office continually reject my applications, even though I have current supermarket experience?" (I applied for one of their constantly-advertised vacancies just a few days ago.)
 
Instead I just calmly walked past and got some of the tasty triple chocolate ice cream that Morrisons doesn't stock.

Saturday, 12 June 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tapes 52-54: The Genesis Effect *UPDATED JUNE 12TH*

They were considered giants of progressive rock before they morphed into one of the giants of 80’s rock, and along the way their members have forged successful solo careers and seconds bands. They’re also one of my all-time favourites, so it seems fitting that the mighty Genesis gets The Two Sheds Mix Tape treatment.

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

We're 21!

 
21 years ago this month The Two Sheds Review appeared for the first time. Why not show a little love by sharing this blog and liking it on social media. There's a lot more to this blog than professional wrestling and mixed martial arts you know!

 

Friday, 23 April 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tape 51: Tribute to Jim Steinman

The music world is in mourning again with the passing of one of the greatest songwriters of all time, the great Jim Steinman.

Steinman will, without a doubt, be best remembered for his collaborations with Meat Loaf, beginning with their 1977 classic Bat Out of Hell. It really is one of the greatest albums of all time, and it wasn’t surprising that it stayed in the charts for so many years.

Twenty Years (and Two Days Ago) This Happened

So 20 years (and 2 days) ago this happened, my first ever live show review. To be completely honest I'm surprised that the powers-that-be haven't been all over social media with their usual boasts, biggest show in Britain at the time, 2,000 fans, you know the sort of things.

But then again maybe the people who constantly go on about what they've achieved over the years are finally taking the advice they used to give me and have stopped living in the past.

Anyway, enjoy this old review, a piece that sent me on a journey filled with good times and bad, full of promises that were never kept and debts that were never repaid.

If you want to watch the show it's available online somewhere. I'm not going to tell you where it is. After all, they never tell people where my site is!

Monday, 29 March 2021

Clothes Maketh The Man

There’s an old saying - clothes maketh the man - and that’s certainly true if you’re a key worker using public transport at the moment.

I recently started work for Morrisons again. This time around I’m working as a picker, picking out online orders for home deliveries. I’ve mainly starting at 5am, although I’m doing 4am starts now, often finishing some time between 9am and 11am, depending on when I start. So as you can imagine I’m quite tired when I finish my shift, and even though I only live about a mile or so from the store I get the bus home.

Thursday, 11 March 2021

New Fiction Addition: Anglo-Force - Refuge On Ikotia

With public and political opinion beginning to turn against them, Anglo-Force may have found somewhere they can take refuge if need be, the Caribbean island of Ikotia.

Originally written in 1995 and shamelessly ripped-off from an X-Men cartoon, "Refuge on Ikotia" was the 19th Anglo-Force story. Click on the links below to read the chapters.

 

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four