Saturday, 12 June 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tapes 52-54: The Genesis Effect *UPDATED JUNE 12TH*

They were considered giants of progressive rock before they morphed into one of the giants of 80’s rock, and along the way their members have forged successful solo careers and seconds bands. They’re also one of my all-time favourites, so it seems fitting that the mighty Genesis gets The Two Sheds Mix Tape treatment.

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

We're 21!

 
21 years ago this month The Two Sheds Review appeared for the first time. Why not show a little love by sharing this blog and liking it on social media. There's a lot more to this blog than professional wrestling and mixed martial arts you know!

 

Friday, 23 April 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tape 51: Tribute to Jim Steinman

The music world is in mourning again with the passing of one of the greatest songwriters of all time, the great Jim Steinman.

Steinman will, without a doubt, be best remembered for his collaborations with Meat Loaf, beginning with their 1977 classic Bat Out of Hell. It really is one of the greatest albums of all time, and it wasn’t surprising that it stayed in the charts for so many years.

Twenty Years (and Two Days Ago) This Happened

So 20 years (and 2 days) ago this happened, my first ever live show review. To be completely honest I'm surprised that the powers-that-be haven't been all over social media with their usual boasts, biggest show in Britain at the time, 2,000 fans, you know the sort of things.

But then again maybe the people who constantly go on about what they've achieved over the years are finally taking the advice they used to give me and have stopped living in the past.

Anyway, enjoy this old review, a piece that sent me on a journey filled with good times and bad, full of promises that were never kept and debts that were never repaid.

If you want to watch the show it's available online somewhere. I'm not going to tell you where it is. After all, they never tell people where my site is!

Monday, 29 March 2021

Clothes Maketh The Man

There’s an old saying - clothes maketh the man - and that’s certainly true if you’re a key worker using public transport at the moment.

I recently started work for Morrisons again. This time around I’m working as a picker, picking out online orders for home deliveries. I’ve mainly starting at 5am, although I’m doing 4am starts now, often finishing some time between 9am and 11am, depending on when I start. So as you can imagine I’m quite tired when I finish my shift, and even though I only live about a mile or so from the store I get the bus home.

Thursday, 11 March 2021

New Fiction Addition: Anglo-Force - Refuge On Ikotia

With public and political opinion beginning to turn against them, Anglo-Force may have found somewhere they can take refuge if need be, the Caribbean island of Ikotia.

Originally written in 1995 and shamelessly ripped-off from an X-Men cartoon, "Refuge on Ikotia" was the 19th Anglo-Force story. Click on the links below to read the chapters.

 

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Friday, 5 March 2021

The Two Sheds Mix Tapes 46-50: The Music of Queen

It’s no secret that I’m a massive fan of Queen. They are without a doubt one of the greatest rock bands of all time, and in the late Freddie Mercury they had the greatest front man in the history of music.

I could go on and on about how great they are, but their back catalogue speaks for itself. Their music really is timeless, and it shows just how good Freddie, Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon were not just as a combined unit but in their side projects as well.

Thursday, 4 March 2021

This May Be My Last Post Here

This may be my last post here.
 
Tomorrow morning at 11.10am I will be injected with the covid vaccine, and from that moment on Bill Gates will be able to control every aspect of my life, thanks to the microchips that are in the chemicals.
 
I have no idea how Mr. Gates will use me exactly, but I hope I will play a major part in his grand design for the planet Earth and the human race.
 
So hail and farewell to everyone, and if I don't turn up for work next week tell my boss that they can probably contact Mr. Gates through the Microsoft head office.

Saturday, 27 February 2021

Monty vs Johnny Rotten

Monty is now 0-2 in staring contests. Having previously lost to my Jar Jar Binks mug a few years ago he's now lost to the visage of punk legend John Lydon.
 
This screenshot came from the music player on my tablet a few nights ago. Monty sat on the bed staring at the screeen for about twenty seconds before turning away and curling up on his woolly blanket. Seems he couldn't handle Mr. Rotten looking at him anymore.

Sunday, 14 February 2021

New Fiction Addition: The Journeys of Magus

As the planet Gallifrey tries to forge links with the United Federation of Planets a young Time Lord named Drathro expresses a desire to travel with the Doctor. But when the Doctor refuses his request he suggests that Drathro travels with another doctor, a certain immortal wizard by the name of Phineas Magus.

Orignally written in 1995 and intended as a second spin-off from The Valkyrie Chronicles, The Journeys of Magus sees the wizard putting together a crew, including the legendary engineer Montgomery Scott and former Enterprise crew member Sonya Gomez, as they take on an old starship so Drathro can learn the ways of the universe before becoming Gallifrey's first ambassador to the Federation.

It was also the end of an era in a way as it was the last story I wrote on battered old typewriters before I got a brand spanking new Casio electronic typewriter!

(Oh, in case you're wondering why David Tennant's is pictured here when the story was written nine years before he played the Doctor you'll have to read the story!)

You can read this short story by clicking on the links below:

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four