Wednesday, 28 January 2015

TV Review: WWE Royal Rumble

It was the first stop on the road to Wrestlemania, but did it fulfil it's expectations? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching WWE's Royal Rumble, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Sunday, 25 January 2015

DVD Review: Bryan Danielson: World Champion

He's regarded as one of the best in the world, but he's been missing from our screens because of long-term injury problems. Now he's back, so what better time is there to look at Ring of Honor's tribute to Bryan Danielson: World Champion.

Wednesday, 21 January 2015

Farewell.....for a couple of weeks anyway! (but not from this blog!)

I wrote the following for the blog I run for the RNLI Henry Blogg Museum here in Cromer, commenting on the end of my CWP placement. But as that blog is only aimed at museum volunteers I thought that, like my piece about my Uncle Ted, it would be a good idea to post it here as well. Enjoy!

As I write this it's Friday afternoon, and I'm sitting in the Education Room, overlooking Cromer Beach and the North Sea. There's a few people milling around down below, but not many because of the cold weather.

Electricians carrying out the building's annual safety checks are coming through the room at various intervals. There's lots of banging and the smell of paint from upstairs as the cafe undergoes a makeover, and behind me, Henry Blogg is lying on a table, with two versions of his dog Monte watching over him.

But my recently have been turning to my impending, albeit temporary departure from the museum, with my CWP work placement coming to an end on Monday, January 19th.

Saturday, 17 January 2015

Catch-Up: UFC 182 Jones vs Cormier

It's time to play Catch-Up once more as we take a look at the recent past and the first big MMA fight of 2015, the Light-Heavyweight title clash that headlined UFC 182: Jones vs. Cormier.

Sunday, 4 January 2015

Catch-Up: TNA Bound for Glory 2014

It's time to continue with our Catch-Up series as we head back in time to Tokyo and last October, where Wrestle-1 joined TNA for what is traditionally their biggest show of the year, Bound for Glory.

Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Catch-Up: Cage Warriors 70-71

It's time to continue with the Christmas catch-up theme as we take a trip into the world of British mixed martial arts. We're going back to last August and Channel 4's highlight packages of two Cage Warriors shows.

Monday, 29 December 2014

Catch-Up: WWE TLC

It's gimmick match overload time once more as we continue our catch up theme by taking a look at WWE's most recent pay per view offering, TLC.

Friday, 26 December 2014

Catch-Up: WWE NXT Takeover R-Evolution

As many of you will know I've been rather busy in the past few months. My work placement at a local museum meant that I couldn't find the time to watch as much wrestling and MMA as I usually did. But as I have the next couple of weeks off I've decided to catch up on a few recent shows.

And what better place is there to start than with something that has impressed the hell out of me in the past and WWE's feeder group, NXT, as we take a look at their most recent offering, Takeover: R-Evolution.

Tuesday, 25 November 2014

WWE Survivor Series on Sky Box Office - TV Review

It's time to head into WWE territory once again as we take a look at their latest pay per view offering, Survivor Series, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Sports here in Britain.

Tuesday, 4 November 2014

WWE Hell in a Cell on Sky Box Office - TV Review

It's time to head into WWE territory once again as we take a belated look at this year's Hell in a Cell, shown recently on Sky Box Office here in Britain.