Sunday, 31 January 2016

RIP Sir Terry

A few years ago when I was on Seetec's work programme my advisor was a lady called Maggie-May Francis. She was by far the best advisor I'd ever had, a genuinely lovely lady who made the effort to get to know me as a person rather than as a job seeker. We became good friends, and I was genuinely sad when she left Seetec to move on to pastures new.

Our conversations would often stray into non-job seeking discussions, and she often spoke of her work as a singer (she's very good by the way). One of her gigs way back when saw her working as a backing singer for Terry Wogan on Children in Need.

Saturday, 30 January 2016

TV Review: WWE Royal Rumble

Traditionally it’s the first stop on the road to Wrestlemania, a thirty man battle that carried even more significance this year. But did it deliver what it set out to do? That’s what I’m hoping to find out by watching WWE’s Royal Rumble, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Sunday, 17 January 2016

TV Review: TNA One Night Only Live

It was the first wrestling pay per view of the year, but was it that good? That’s what I’m hoping to find out by watching TNA One Night Only Live, shown this past Wednesday on Challenge here in Britain.

Thursday, 14 January 2016

Download Review: MCW Ballroom Brawl 2015

It’s debut time here again as we travel to the land down under to take a look at Australia’s Melbourne City Wrestling. We’re going back in time to May last year to see some new faces and some old friends from the Wrestlerock days as we take a look at Ballroom Brawl 2015.

Monday, 11 January 2016

Rest in peace Mr. Bowie

Back in the 1970’s when I was a young lad my Dad used to work as a bin man. It was an entirely different job back then. No simply putting wheelie bins on a lift to tip into the back of a truck back then.

One of his routes saw him collecting the rubbish from one of the local cafes here in Cromer. Every few weeks a man would go round and change the records in their jukebox, and rather than throw them away the owner used to give some of them to Dad, so when I first took an interest in music our family had a ready-made record collection.

Most of the songs I used to play a lot came from the glam rock era, so among the likes of Slade, Sweet, T-Rex, Suzi Quatro and David Essex were a few from a guy called David Bowie.

Friday, 8 January 2016

DVD Review: WWE The Beast in the East

In my last review of 2015 I took a look at WWE’s Elimination Chamber show, an event that fell under that radar for those of us who don’t subscribe to the WWE Network.

So for my first review of 2016 I’m going to continue in a similar vein by taking a look at another network-exclusive event that was subsequently released on DVD here in the UK, an event that saw Brock Lesnar returning to Japan for The Beast in the East.

Thursday, 31 December 2015

DVD Review: WWE Elimination Chamber 2015

As we near the end of 2015 I thought it would be a good idea to take a look at a show that fell under the radar of those who don’t subscribe to the WWE Network, a show that was later released on DVD here in the UK. The show in question is Elimination Chamber.

Tuesday, 29 December 2015

Rest in peace Lemmy

I still have vivid memories of that day in the summer of 1981. My brother Jon called me into his bedroom so he could play some his records for me. He was really starting to become a metal head, thanks to his countless trips to the West Runton Pavillion.. Up until then I'd been a solid pop music fan. Adam and the Ants were my faveourite band at the time. I couldn't be doing with that heavy metal stuff.

Monday, 21 December 2015

TV Review: WWE TLC

It’s time for one of those better late than never reviews as we take a look back at WWE’s most recent pay per view offering, TLC, shown recently on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Wednesday, 16 December 2015

TV Review: UFC 194 Aldo vs McGregor

It’s time for the second part of our Octagon double bill as we take a look at one of the biggest title fights in recent memory at UFC 194, shown this past weekend on BT Sport here in Britain.