Monday, 25 April 2016

TV Review: UFC 197 Jones vs Saint Preux

The Octagon is our destination once again as we take a look back at the events of UFC 197, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Monday, 11 April 2016

TV Review: WWE Wrestlemania 32

It was the biggest event of the year, but did it deliver? That’s what I was hoping to find out by watching the marathon that was WWE Wrestlemania 32, shown recently on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Saturday, 2 April 2016

What does it take to get a job at Morrisons?

Once again Morrisons in Cromer were advertising for people. My adviser at the job centre said I should give it a go, even though I'd been rejected lord knows how many times over the years.

So I filled out the form and took it back to the job centre on Wednesday. This morning I got yet another rejection letter from their personel manager.

Friday, 1 April 2016

Jackie Pallo and Me

In February 2006, shortly after the death of British wrestling great Jackie Pallo, the Eastern Daily Press got in touch with me asking me to contribute to the article below.

It's the only time during my nearly 16 years as a wrestling blogger I've been asked to contribute something in this way, and even though I only get a brief mention it was nice to get a bit of recognition.

Thursday, 10 March 2016

TV Review: UFC 196 McGregor vs Diaz

The Octagon is our next destination as we take a look at the recent happenings at UFC 196, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Monday, 29 February 2016

DVD Review: WWE Best Pay-Per-View Matches 2013

So what was WWE’s year like back in 2013? Can’t remember? Then maybe this will help as we take a look at the DVD release of WWE’s Best Pay Per View Matches 2013.

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

TV Review: WWE Fast Lane

It was the final pay-per-view stop on the Road to Wrestlemania, but did it deliver? That’s what I was hoping to find out by watching WWE’s Fast Lane, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Saturday, 13 February 2016

My operation was a success!

A quick health update for you: this past Wednesday, about five months after being admitted to A&E, I went back into hospital for my heart operation. 

The procedure I underwent was a coronoary angiogram. The operation was a success. They discovered some minor damage to a couple of arteries which will be treated with medication, while another artery at the back of my heart was repaired with a stent. I was released from hospital the following day, with strict instructions to take it easy for a week or so.

Sunday, 31 January 2016

RIP Sir Terry

A few years ago when I was on Seetec's work programme my advisor was a lady called Maggie-May Francis. She was by far the best advisor I'd ever had, a genuinely lovely lady who made the effort to get to know me as a person rather than as a job seeker. We became good friends, and I was genuinely sad when she left Seetec to move on to pastures new.

Our conversations would often stray into non-job seeking discussions, and she often spoke of her work as a singer (she's very good by the way). One of her gigs way back when saw her working as a backing singer for Terry Wogan on Children in Need.

Saturday, 30 January 2016

TV Review: WWE Royal Rumble

Traditionally it’s the first stop on the road to Wrestlemania, a thirty man battle that carried even more significance this year. But did it deliver what it set out to do? That’s what I’m hoping to find out by watching WWE’s Royal Rumble, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.