Monday, 3 August 2015

My Roddy Piper Story

When I heard about the sad death of “Rowdy” Roddy Piper late last Friday night I immediately began to think about the great man’s legendary career, not just as one of the most iconic stars of the wrestling business but of his acting career as well.

I then began to think about my own Roddy Piper story. Sadly I never met the man, and as with many things related to my somewhat brief time in the British professional wrestling business it was a case of “what if” and “almost”.

Monday, 27 July 2015

When the man from the Beeb came to Cromer

Post-show group photo!
Picture the scene. It's around 11am in the morning, I'm sitting in my bedroom, listening to BBC Radio Norfolk. Nick Conrad, the station's morning show presenter, has left the studio for what he's termed a "Pop-Up Conrad" show, the idea being that he travels to various parts of the county and finds new places to present his show.

This particular morning saw him presenting his show from Aylsham Market Place. During one particular segment he's talking to various people who happen to be passing by the spot where his radio car is parked, and there's one memorable moment where he talks to an old boy who thought he'd been banned because he was taken off air for saying the word "bitch" during a phone-in. Nick and Edd (the show's aptly-named editor) then tell their audience that they're looking to do more Pop-Up Conrad shows in the future, and they want their listeners to send in their ideas.

Wednesday, 22 July 2015

TV Review: WWE Battleground

It's time to take a trip to Suplex City as we take a look at WWE's latest pay-per-view offering, Battleground, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Thursday, 16 July 2015

Listen to me on the radio!

Earlier today I had the pleasure of meeting Nick Conrad​ and his team as they brought their Radio Norfolk show to the Henry Blogg Museum here in Cromer.

We had a great time showing Nick and his crew around the museum talking about the great man himself among other things. Richard Leeds​ from the Lifeboat Station also popped by for a chat, and as the old saying goes a good time was had by all.

Monday, 13 July 2015

TV Review: UFC 189 Mendes vs McGregor

It was the night of the two title fights, but who would emerge as the kings of their divisions? That was what I was hoping to find out by watching UFC 189, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

Tuesday, 7 July 2015

DVD Review: ROH Relentless

We're heading into Ring of Honor territory for our next review, and this time around we're taking a look at one of their event DVDs, heading back to Richmond, Virginia on May 18th, 2013. Kevin "Owens" Steen was there, as were Eddie Edwards and Davey Richards before they dropped the American and became ordinary Wolves, and B.J. Whitmer challenged World Champion Jay Briscoe  in the main event of Relentless.

Friday, 3 July 2015

TV Review: Insane Fight Club II

Last week I had the pleasure of watching one of the best British wrestling documentaries I've seen in recent years. Insane Fight Club focused on the good and the great of the Glasgow-based Insane Championship Wrestling in the lead-up to their biggest ever show.

This past Wednesday BBC Three gave us a second look at those crazy Scots in Insane Fight Club II, which focused on two main storylines, their first tour of England, and the proverbial prodigal son returning from the bright lights of WWE.

Wednesday, 1 July 2015

TV Review: TNA Slammiversary

It was something of an historic night for TNA as, eleven years since their debut on British television fans on this side of the pond finally got to see one of their pay-per-views live in the early hours of this past Monday morning as Challenge presented Slammiversary.

Friday, 26 June 2015

TV Review: Insane Fight Club

Over the years there have been countless documentaries made about the wrestling business. Some of them have been good, some have been bloody awful, while some have been little more than vanity pieces. In March of 2014 the BBC stepped into that particular arena again with Insane Fight Club, with the show being repeated this past Wednesday night on BBC Three ahead of the broadcast of it’s sequel next week.

Tuesday, 23 June 2015

DVD Review: NECW Iron 8 Championship 2014

This edition of The Two Sheds Review features the return of one of one of the best indies I've seen in recent years, New England Championship Wrestling.. I last looked in on Sheldon Goldberg and his crew back in 2009, so let's catch up with things a little by taking a look at their recent DVD release of last year's Iron 8 Championship.