Wednesday, 20 May 2015

TV Review: WWE Payback

It's time to step into WWE territory once again as we take a look at their latest pay-per-view offering, Payback, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Sunday, 10 May 2015

DVD Review: Austin Aries: The Greatest Man That Ever Lived

Austin Aries is the subject of our latest review as we take a look at another of Ring of Honor's compilations, a collection of matches that presents us with these questions: is he really as good as he boasts? Is he really The Greatest Man That Ever Lived?

Thursday, 7 May 2015

Announcing the re-launch of The Two Sheds Review Hall of Fame

This coming June marks the 15th anniversary of The Two Sheds Review. During that time my reviews and babblings have appeared on countless websites and in dozens of e-mail newsletters (remember them?), and it’s gone on to become Britain’s longest-running professional wrestling and mixed martial arts blog.

Long-time readers may remember that a few years ago I launched The Two Sheds Review Hall of Fame, where I paid tribute to the good and the great of the wrestling world. I basically nominated people whose work I had enjoyed during my many years as a wrestling fan. It didn’t matter if they were the most gifted or the most technical, if I enjoyed their work they went in.

The entrants into my Hall were many and varied, ranging from WWE greats such as Andre the Giant, Bret “Hitman” Hart, the Ultimate Warrior and Eddie Guerrero to British stars such as Giant Haystacks, Marty Jones and Les Kellett. Wrestling managers Paul Heyman and Bobby “The Brain” Heenan also made the cut, as did legendary scribe Bill Apter and British wrestling commentator Kent Walton. I also inducted my friend and wrestling referee, the late Joe Williams.

I lost interest in my Hall of Fame quite a while ago, and it’s been almost ten years since the likes of the Great Muta and “Rowdy” Roddy Piper were inducted. Well, all of that is about to change.

Next month, to coincide with the 15th anniversary of my babblings I’ll be officially re-launching The Two Sheds Review Hall of Fame with six new inductions. However, there will be a slight twist for the Class of 2015.

So what is this twist, I hear you ask? It’s simple really. My wresting viewing began way back when during the heady days of what has become to be known as the World of Sport era here in Britain, so it seems right that all six of this year’s class will be British. Some of those inducted will have made their name during that time, but there will be others who have made a name for themselves since then and who have carried the Union Jack proudly around the world in the name of British wrestling.

All six names will be revealed on June 1st, so you’ll have to wait until then to see who makes the cut.

But to keep you happy until then you can see the previous inductees on my blog at http://twoshedsreview.blogspot.co.uk/p/the-two-sheds-review-hall-of-fame.html, as well as on The Two Sheds Review Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/twoshedsreview.

Tuesday, 5 May 2015

An open letter to my local election candidates: What can you do to help me find a job?

With the UK General Election this coming Thursday I decided to write an open letter to my local parlimentary candidates. It concerns my lack of job opportunities over the past few years. I've e-mailed it to all of them, but because it's so close to election day I probably won't hear anything back from them.
 
I've decided to share this with you here today mainly because this is my blog after all, and it's easier to post a link to it if I decided to share this on other social media pages. I must admit that I do feel a little better having gotten this off my chest.
 
Please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Julian Radbourne. I was born on November 8th, 1971. I have lived in the Norfolk coastal town of Cromer all of my life. I’m single, I don’t have any children, and I live with two of my brothers.

You’re probably wondering why I’m writing to you so close to election day on Thursday. I probably should have written this letter a few weeks ago, but in truth I only really began to compose it in my head a couple of days ago.

I’ve been observing the current election campaign with great interest. I’ve seen all the promises that the various parties have made in recent months, but there’s one thing that’s been really bothering me. You see, I don’t think any of your parties have made mention of people in my situation.

Tuesday, 28 April 2015

TV Review: WWE Extreme Rules

It's gimmick match overload time again, but this time it's of the WWE variety as we take a look back at Extreme Rules, shown live in the early hours of this past Monday morning on Sky Box Office here in Britain.

Monday, 27 April 2015

TV Review: UFC 186 Johnson vs Horiguchi

It was a show that had quite an eventful run-in, with numerous pull-outs because of injury, one of which forced the postponement of the original main event, another fighter pulled because of a failed drugs test, and a court battle with a rival promotion over a fighter's disputed contract.

But despite all of that, Demetrious Johnson faced the latest challenger to his Flyweight crown, Kyoji Horiguchi, in the main event of UFC 186, shown live in the early hours of this past Sunday morning on BT Sport here in Britain.

TV Review: BAMMA 20: McDermott vs Lazarz

We're entering the world of British MMA for the first time in a while as we take a look at the 20th offering from BAMMA, shown live this past Saturday night on Spike here in Britain.

Sunday, 19 April 2015

TV Review: TNA One Night Only: Hardcore Justice

It's gimmick match overtime as we step into TNA territory for the first time in ages to look at their latest One Night Only show, Hardcore Justice, shown this past Wednesday night on Challenge here in Britain.

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Download Review: Wrestlerock: New Era, New Rules

A few years ago I had my first taste of Australian wrestling in the form of the Wrestlerock promotion, and I liked what I saw. The company was like a breath of fresh air. They were rugged, a little rough around the edges. They weren't PG, or even PC for that matter, and they were damn proud of that.

But having enjoyed a ton of great matches featuring the likes of Krackerjak, Jag Hartley Jackson, Slex, Mad Dog and the rest of those crazy b*****ds it came to an end, and I was quite saddened when I heard that Wrestlerock were closing their doors.

But guess what, kiddies! They're back! Those mental Aussies made their triumphant return to their old stomping ground last February at the Corner Hotel in Melbourne. Wrestlerock were back, and for them it was a New Era, New Rules.

Friday, 10 April 2015

DVD Review: WWE Live in the UK November 2014 Part 2 - Main Event/Superstars/Smackdown

It's part two of our WWE Live in the UK November 2014 DVD review, and this time around we've got three shows for the price of one as we take a look back Main Event, Superstars and Smackdown.